Re: LOCK THIS COMPUTER
"Terry" <Terry@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> Can some one advise what this means in the shutdown section. Am a
> bit reluctant to try it in case it locks the computer and I have no code.
It simply means you are locking Vista from use, without shutting the machine
down or logging out (your session is kept in memory).
When selecting this option you will be returned to the log on screen, where
you have the alternatives of logging back on to your session, or switching
to a different user account - like when you wake up the computer from sleep
or hibernation. If you have password protected the account, you will of
course need to enter your password in order to log back on.
The Lock option comes in handy when you are leaving your computer unattended
for just a few minutes, and don't want anybody else snooping around your